MBA

MBA in Entrepreneurship – Acton School of Business

5.00 / 5

Our 10-month immersive MBA program prepares talented and dedicated individuals for extraordinary lives as principled entrepreneurs.


3 promises: Learn how to learn, make money, and live a life of meaning

METHOD

Learn How to Learn

Our simulation and case-based curriculum teach you how to listen, think, and clearly communicate. Unlike narrow technical skills that rapidly become obsolete, “learning how to learn” will serve you your entire life.

TOOLS AND SKILLS

Learn How to Make Money

Our curriculum arms you with the tools, skills, and judgment necessary to build a thriving business. In every class and in every case, you will be forced to make tough decisions that test your principles until you have earned the intuition of a master entrepreneur.

MINDSET

Learn How to Live A Life of Meaning

Companies cannot survive unless they make money, but life is about more than just maximizing cash flow. Throughout our program you will learn how to balance the demands of family, business, and community while working to discover your calling in business and in life.

What to Expect

Ever feel like a misfit? So did many of the world’s leading entrepreneurs. When it comes to equipping people like you, most programs miss the point. That’s why Acton teachers—all of them successful, working entrepreneurs—focus on what works in the real world, so you can start leaving your mark ASAP. You’ll learn from seasoned entrepreneurs whose top priority is your growth and success.

Here’s how:

  • You’ll learn from entrepreneurs with battle scars.
  • Your teachers and mentors are successful entrepreneurs who are gifted in the classroom and proven in the boardroom.
  • Designed with an entrepreneur’s perspective.
  • You will learn how to build and grow successful businesses from scratch and be the kind of entrepreneurial leader that inspires others to join your team.
  • You’ll be treated not just as a student, but as a valued customer.
  • Our teachers sign a contract agreeing that they’ll step down if they don’t meet your needs.

We work with:

  • Bright, talented and driven individuals
  • Dedicated and successful entrepreneurs who are proven in the boardroom and outstanding in the classroom
  • Real-world cases, which participants analyze, argue and discuss throughout each 120-minute class session
  • Experiential learning and simulations, including door-to-door sales, assembly line construction and other immersive learning techniques

So that our graduates are prepared to:

  • Listen, question, analyze and persuade like a master entrepreneur
  • Deploy the tools and judgment to run a thriving business
  • Identify their calling
  • Run a successful business, raise a loving family and contribute to their communities and the world in a powerful way

The Curriculum

Break out of structure, routine and theories — Come to Acton for an experience that brings you into a community of exceptional leaders making an extraordinary impact on the world in less than half the time and cost of a traditional MBA program.

Acton begins with a blended learning experience during the first semester of our program. During this initial four-month period, you’ll engage in a series of interactive online courses – including cash and valuation, operations, customers and discovery – to prepare you with a strong foundation to take into the pit on day one of the in-class semester of the program.

Students typically spend about 20-25 hours per week with the material during Pre-Matriculation. The classroom portion of the program begins the next semester and takes place on campus in Austin, TX.

During this intensive second semester, students find themselves working approximately 80-100 hours per week. With only five months of the program required in residence, students often continue working during the first semester, relocating to Austin only for the second and final semester.

Individual Preparation

Acton MBA entrepreneurship classes are focused on cases, each of which requires hours of individual concentration and preparation beforehand. Plan on devoting between five and eight hours of study to analyzing each case in depth. Any less and you’ll be left behind.

Study Groups

Study Groups are like prototypes for class. You’ll arrive at Study Group each morning fully prepared to stand in the shoes of the case’s entrepreneur. Your group will choose a peer to open the case, and for over an hour you’ll describe and defend your positions with them. If you haven’t prepared, it’ll show.

Classes

Classes begin with a “cold call,” a challenging question the teacher poses to a single student to open the case. What comes next is eighty furious minutes of analysis, argument, and fervent persuasion. Individual contribution is critical.


Apply to Acton MBA

Start your application to Acton’s MBA program by providing us with some basic information below. Once we receive this information, our admissions team will reach out to help you through the rest of the application.

Important Dates

Acton February Cohort (Peterson Fellowships):
Application Deadline: December 15, 2018
Virtual: February 25, 2019 – July 15, 2019
In-Class: August 5, 2019 – December 14, 2019

Acton July Cohort:
1st Application Deadline: January 7, 2019
2nd Application Deadline: March 4, 2019
Final Application Deadline: May 13, 2019
Virtual: July 29, 2019 – December 16, 2019
In-Class: January 6, 2020 – May 16, 2020

  • Isaiah Rifkin

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Acton is something you have to experience to truly understand it’s impact. It 100% follows through on its promise that you will “Learn how to learn, learn how to make money, and learn how to live a life of meaning.” The mere structure of it forces the first promise. While the community is special, you drive your own learning. No one tells you what to do so you have to learn how to make your way through the process. The second promise seems the most logical but Acton challenges you to read between the lines and understand the relationship that money plays within every aspect of the business. Finally the life of meaning class pushes you to answer the question why does it all matter and simultaneously humanizes and personalizes the whole business school experience. Get excited for a great challenge.

  • Laura Detke

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    The best education that I never could have dreamed. Only here will teachers and classmates challenge you to your limits because they care about you. They see in you incredible ability that you cannot see in yourself, that possibly no one else in your life will push you to reveal.

  • Pete Rakozy

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Every aspect of my life is better thanks to this MBA. Not only did I learn true entrepreneurial skills and principles from real entrepreneurs, I discovered confidence, my true values, purpose, and mission in life. Hands down the second hardest thing I’ve ever done but the single best investment I’ve ever made.

  • Sam Elick

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Best entrepreneurship school on Earth. Second only to the school of hard knocks (starting a business).

  • Mark Taylor

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Graduated in the class of 2008 and it is one of the best investments of time, effort, and money I have ever made in myself.

  • Michael Arthur

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    This program is by far the best investment I’ve ever made and ever will make! It’s something you have to experience to understand, but it will change you in a profound way if you do the work. This program doesn’t just give you a Master’s in Business, it gives you a Master’s in life as well. It’s not for everyone, but it’s the only program for some of us!

  • Nainish Dalal

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    I thought I had seen everything and accomplished a lot prior to attending Acton, but I wasn’t even close to understanding the true limits of my capability. I am now a better husband, a better father, and a better person. Because I was forced to struggle and figure things out at Acton, I now have the belief that I can solve any problem that comes my way.

  • Robin Bruce

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    There’s simply no place like it; world-class curriculum, generous teachers, and unbelievable classmates. Acton was a life-changing experience from start to finish.

  • Selena Pang

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    “How you do anything is how you do everything.” Acton MBA is about teaching you how to become a principled entrepreneur. Hands down the best investment I’ve made in myself that will pay back many times over. Prepare to work hard alongside some smart, passionate and hungry cohorts.

  • Spencer Dryer

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Acton changed my life. Hunger, passion, and service describe why the educators and staff show up to work each and every day! If you want to make a true advancement in your life, choose Acton.

  • Sydney Sherman

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Acton is the best thing I have ever done for myself. I paid for an MBA but I came away with much, much more than that. It is hard to describe what it is that Acton does for its students that makes the rigorous schedule “worth it” but to say that every second was worth it would be an understatement. The rewards are 10 times what you put into it. I not only have a much stronger understanding of the many aspects of business, but I have a much stronger understanding of myself. I look forward to the learning to come as Acton is really only the start of a long life of learning about business, myself and the world!

  • Pam Harght

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Best business education in the country.

  • Nelson Monteith

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Amazing experience.

  • Joseph Shiraz

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Great program, one of the top in the Nation.

  • Jonathan Cover

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    The experience at Acton delivers incredible value if you put in the effort. It’s not for those who are ready to check the box, pass the bar or otherwise measure themselves by other’s standards. Acton rewards the internally motivated person with lifelong friends, great business mentors and a set of very practical skills. The program gives you plenty of chances to find what your current limits are and what about yourself limits your future. If you want to profoundly change your life, Acton can help make that happen.

  • Andy Tran

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Looking for the new step in life? Looking for a path to success? Looking achieve the freedom you always wanted? Sit in one of Acton’s class to find out if it’s right for you! Highly recommend Acton.

  • Isaiah Rifkin

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Acton is something you have to experience to truly understand its impact. It 100% follows through on its promise that you will “Learn how to learn, learn how to make money, and learn how to live a life of meaning.” The mere structure of it forces the first promise. While the community is special, you drive your own learning. No one tells you what to do so you have to learn how to make your way through the process. The second promise seems the most logical but Acton challenges you to read between the lines and understand the relationship that money plays within every aspect of the business. Finally the life of meaning class pushes you to answer the question why does it all matter and simultaneously humanizes and personalizes the whole business school experience. Get excited for a great challenge.

  • Michael Arthur

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    This program is by far the best investment I’ve ever made and ever will make! It’s something you have to experience to understand, but it will change you in a profound way if you do the work! It’s definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but I would definitely do it again! This program doesn’t just give you a Master’s in Business, it gives you a Master’s in life as well! It’s not for everyone, but it’s the only program for some of us!

  • Ian Lindsey

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Best educational experience I’ve ever had in my life.

  • Valeri Tkeshelashvili

    Reply
    Rating: 5 / 5

    Acton MBA was a life-changing experience for me, for many reasons. I wrote a blog article evaluating the Acton MBA program five years after graduation. You can find it on Medium: Five years after Acton MBA, was it worth it?

    https://medium.com/@valeritkeshelashvili/five-years-after-acton-mba-was-it-worth-it-6734e44a266e

Post New Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2017 All Rights Reserved by Sentio Education